Thursday May 24

The Board

The Brighter Future for Kids Foundation success is the culmination of the commitment, inspiration and hard work of the following people:



Pauline Preston is the CEO and Executive Director of the Brighter Future 4 Kids Foundation


Glenn Ferguson AM is Chair of the Brighter Future 4 Kids Foundation. He is the Managing Director of Sajen Legal and a past President of the Law Council of Australia. Sajen Legal provides services in Commercial Litigation, Insurance, Personal Injury, Building, Family, Conveyancing and Wills and Estates. Sajen Legal is a respected member of the local, state, national and international community. The organisation is heavily involved in numerous foundations and charitable organisations and prides itself upon providing accurate result driven advice.


Bruce Swan is the CFO of the Brighter Future 4 Kids Foundation. He is the Senior Partner of BDO - one of the best-known names in business. Our global network of member firms provides Audit, Tax and Advisory services to local, national and multinational organisations. We provide Audit, Tax, and Advisory services, delivering a globally consistent set of multidisciplinary financial and accounting capabilities based on deep industry knowledge. BDO member firms work for a wide range of clients, from global organizations to entrepreneurial start-ups.


Rose Houston is Palawa and has lived on the Sunshine Coast for more than 30 years. She is a part of the Indigenous community and has been working within the education system for the past 10 years. Rose has pledged her personal and professional support to the Foundation and is committed to making a difference.

Anne Macdonald APM Anne retired from the Queensland Police Service in June 2013 after 33 years of service, as Acting Assistant Commissioner, Metropolitan North Region. Her substantive rank at time of retirement was Chief Superintendent. Anne was 23 years as a Detective, 18 years working within the area of major and organised crime. In the 2002 Queens Birthday Honours List Anne was awarded the Australian Police Medal for the investigation of serious crime in particular child abuse and sexual abuse. At the 2009 Australasian Council of Women and Policing Annual Excellence in Policing (ACWAP) Awards, Anne was honoured with the Most Outstanding Female Leader award, and she was also honoured at the same awards with the Audrey Fagan Memorial Award. Anne is the Secretary of the Australasian Council of Women and Police.


Marshall Irwin has a Bachelor of Laws from the University of Queensland and was admitted as a barrister in Queensland in 1976. His early career included 12 years as a senior prosecutor in Queensland and five years investigating crime and corruption — both with the Fitzgerald Inquiry and as the first General Counsel to the newly established Criminal Justice Commission. From 1998, he spent four years as a board member of the National Crime Authority in Melbourne, where he oversaw some of Australia’s largest organised crime investigations. As Queensland’s Chief Magistrate between 2003 and 2008, he travelled extensively, visiting every Magistrates Court (over 120 courts) to improve their operations and enhance community access. He presided over District Court proceedings throughout remote and regional Queensland until his retirement in 2014. In addition to lecturing and writing, Mr Irwin has been active in international law associations devoted to reforming criminal law and promoting the rule of law in developing countries. He has also been actively involved in local social justice initiatives.


Louise Vaughan